Skip to content

Sunburn and Eating better

March 31, 2010
by

If you see Jack around this Summer, know that he’ll probably be wearing overalls. I love little boys in overalls, so Jack has quite a few pairs.

We hit up Homewood Park today with Samantha and Noah. When did it get 80 degrees!? I was sweating! Maybe we need to find a park that’s indoors, but with glass walls. That might be asking too much.

I knew it was bright and thought Jack might get a little red while we were there and he sure did. He has a nice little farmer’s tan going on. Sunscreen is going in the diaper bag ASAP.

In other kiddo news…I’ve felt a little convicted lately in how I’ve been feeding Jack. It started out a few weeks ago when Jack was refusing food; I started giving him mac and cheese on occasion and was so thrilled he was actually eating.

Well, he’s still eating vegetables at every meal, but I’ve added in some other not-so-great things that I wouldn’t even eat myself because I try to eat healthy. How bad is it that I’m giving him food I wouldn’t eat!?!?

(Before you judge me, it’s not like I’m feeding him Big Macs or something! He eats generally healthy, it just can be improved and we can take out a couple things. Bokay?)

SOOOooo, after reading on NurtureBaby.com, I made some quick, healthy options for Jack. I made the whole wheat chocolate muffins today. I’m planning on making oatmeal banana cookies tomorrow, since he loves oatmeal but doesn’t like me to feed it to him.

I made my regular taco mix tonight (I use cumin, instead of taco seasoning; and ground turkey), but added extra vegetables to it. Jack loves ground turkey, anyway, so this works out to where I can freeze some of it for when we need quick meals for him.

I think when I don’t plan our meals, not just Jack’s, in advance and have everything on hand, I settle for foods that aren’t as good for us, when healthy meals are not that hard or take long to make.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 5:52 am

    oooo whole wheat chocolate muffins…YUM!

  2. April 1, 2010 6:26 am

    Please share some recipes with me. I never would have tried chili with ground turkey…but your’s is delicious. I’m not saying I’m going to go all crazy now (especially since I don’t really think anything sounds good these days), but I would like to incorporate a few healthier things.

  3. April 1, 2010 8:39 am

    Ugh. I am going through this same thing with Emily, except she is as picky as a person can be and there is almost NOTHING that she will eat. (And that is why she only weighs 17 pounds at 13 months.) Seriously. Thanks for sharing that website. I am gonna check it out and get cooking!

  4. April 1, 2010 12:26 pm

    you inspire me.

  5. April 1, 2010 3:11 pm

    I found NurtureBaby when Dylan was tiny, and have never looked back! I intended to just make a few things here and there, but rely mainly on jarred food. It was the exact opposite. Making his food really is so easy and quick, and I feel so much better knowing exactly what I put in it. And her recipes make so much, that I only make food once or twice a week, and have a huge variety stored in the freezer to just pop out and reheat.

    Don’t get me wrong. Dylan eats plenty of cheese quesadillas and chicken breast when we go out to eat. I just needed to rave with you about how much I love NurtureBaby!

Leave a Reply

