Skip to content

Work Conversation

March 29, 2010
tags:
by

A new member signed up tonight, so I hung with him while he completed his 1 mile fitness test on the treadmill. He had a heart attack in February, so he was taking it easy. We got to talking and I learned that he was extremely athletic back in his heyday and mentioned he was a vegetarian for 6 years.

I was curious about that, and come to find out that he was a hardcore runner and was looking to increase his energy and time, so he did the vegetarian thing. Also, he was running FIVE MINUTE MILES. Let me say this again, FIVE MINUTE MILES.

My jaw dropped and I stood in awe. Sure, he may be out of shape now, but that record of his is amazing. He told me all about his marathons and training. It was so interesting and inspiring!

Other randoms from tonight’s converstations:
-I found out my favoritest hair dresser, Morgan, is leaving her job in August. I need to get in a couple haircuts before she leaves!

– A client and I have the same problems- shin pain when running/walking a mile, toes going numb when running, etc. It may be that her hips are not aligned due to a fall she had recently and needs to see a chiropractor. I wonder if my hips are the same way. Hmmm…or am I just victim to hearing what others have and thinking I have the same.

– I was told I’m Bob, but borderline Jillian. I smile too much to be Jillian. Not my words, theirs.

– Oh, and I got shot the bird by a client who didn’t think I saw him. Apparently, he didn’t like the core work I was making him do. It sounds mean, but we had a good laugh about it.

the end.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. amymezzell permalink
    March 29, 2010 9:30 pm

    Ashley, it is so crazy that you said that about your client and her hips/chiropractor. Two or three weeks ago, I got really bad pains around my shins after I ran. It would be bad even by that night, but really bad the next day. It would be about maybe half better 2 days later (the day I was supposed to run again.) This happened 3 or 4 runs in a row, and I had to postpone my run day 1 or 2 times during that time period. I also happen to go to the chiropractor regularly, and (unrelatedly) felt like I needed to go because of my back. Well, I went on a Monday, and every run since then has been completely pain free afterwards. Seriously. I had started to wonder if it could’ve been related to my back, and what do you know – after I went and got adjusted, I had no more pains. You might want to try it out. It couldn’t hurt – even if it didn’t help. Just a thought!

  2. hollydoodle00 permalink
    March 30, 2010 6:17 am

    I’d shoot you the bird if you made me do any core work. Just so you know.

Leave a Reply

