Skip to content

I get so emotional, baby

March 17, 2010

Just a week and a half til we’ll celebrate Jack Ryan’s first year! Almost every morning I give Jack the countdown to the big day!

I’ve been trying to suppress my emotions about his birthday, mainly by keeping busy with party plans and being excited.

It’s been a crazy, yet normal year. It’s brought some of the highest highs and the lowest lows.

I’ve never been so tired in my life at a lot of points during this past year. I’ve also never been as happy as I am when Reid, Jack and I are all laughing together.

I’m not sure why it’s emotional, but it is.

There’s the fact that we made it through this year. I had my doubts in the beginning, as we all know, but those didn’t last long.

Reid and I are parents together. Sure, we’ve been parents for a year now, but looking back in retrospect makes me realize that we really are parents. We’ve still got a lot to learn and many years ahead of us, but I’m really proud of us. We’ve come a long way, I think.

(Speaking of coming a long way, I still remember vividly during the 2nd day at the hospital after Jack was born when Jack was in the room with me and everyone else had gone to dinner or were done visiting. It was all fine, til he started to wake up and cry and panic hit me. I didn’t know what to do and I was terrified to be alone with him! )

Also, in parenting together, just seeing a whole new side to each other as we develop into the “Mom and Dad” roles.

There’s also the fact that I’m so thankful to God for Jack’s health. He was born without any complications and has been great ever since. The older I get the more I realize how much of a blessing that truly is.

Jack has been the perfect fit for our family. He’s brought so much more joy and laughter into our home. I’m starting to sound cliche’, but it’s true!

It’s been amazing to see him grow and learn every single day. Getting to celebrate all the milestones, big and small- like being able to hold onto a rattle, the first smile, the first laugh, eating real food, etc.

It’s funny to think that just a few months ago we couldn’t imagine him sleeping all night, or crawling, or talking. Now that he’s doing those things, we think about how wierd it’ll be when he’s walking and actually saying sentences. There are so many more things to look forward to!

I’m thankful that we’re on the threshold of another year with him.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2010 6:37 am

    I completely understand where you are coming from on this. You don’t know what you are going to do with a baby…then when you have the kid, you don’t know what you’d do without him/her. It really is fun watching your spouse become a parent and how it changes you.

    It’s ok to be emotional. You baby is hitting another big milestone. Your life has changed completely and yet some days it doesn’t seem as if it has ever changed. It’s a crazy emotional time! It’s a fun time, though, that’s for sure.

  2. Kari Bankston permalink
    March 18, 2010 9:38 am

    Girl!!! I so know what you mean. I have been crying because Hannah is turning 6 months old in 2 weeks, and I am so sad she is growing up way too fast. When I got your birthday invite, I got a little teary eyed myself about Jack turning 1 year old, and he is not even mine. It is totally okay to be emotional. You deserve to cry because this year has been the best and most difficult year of your life! You became a mommy to Jack Ryan which was entirely unexpected, and now he is the best thing that has ever happen to you and Reid!! Pass me the tissues! I’ll be okay, really:)

Leave a Reply

