Skip to content

There will be blood

February 20, 2010
by

*if talk of blood grosses you out and/or pictures, you might want to skip this post…

I’ve made it no secret that I’m getting injections every other week for my psoriasis. I’m on the 2nd dose and I’ve seen incredible progress thus far. My forehead almost looks normal with smooth skin. It’s been years since I’ve seen it look like this.

I’ve recently stumbled upon a side effect of the medication, though.

Yesterday, I cut myself shaving my legs. No big deal, until the blood kept pouring out and I didn’t notice. So much so, that it got on our couch when I sat down. I cleaned it up and put a band aid on. I went through three band-aids on this one little place because it kept bleeding through.

Then, during a run this morning with Samantha, I was wiping my nose on my sleeve (because I do that a lot when I run, gross- I know) and there was blood. And lots of it. I’ve never had a nose bleed before, but thankfully I was close to the bathroom at the park so I could get it under control.

THEN just an hour later, I was cutting a tomato for a sandwich and cut my finger. Just a little cut, usually not a big deal, but it bled for a couple hours!

The only thing I can think of is that the medicine is making my blood thin. Whatever it is, it’s creeping me out!

Here’s my shirt sleeve from this morning. The shirt has been retired to the trash can; it’s very sad. It was from 1999 and super soft. Reid’s pretty excited to see it go; he said it was time.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. sheena permalink
    February 20, 2010 9:18 pm

    i can’t believe you’ve never had a nose bleed. it’s about time.

  2. Reid permalink
    February 21, 2010 8:51 am

    I’m with Casey, you didn’t tell me you’ve never had one. Welcome to being a normal person.

    Also, every time I saw that shirt I would sing to myself: “Team building exercise ’99!”

  3. Reid permalink
    February 21, 2010 8:56 am

    sorry, not casey. sheena.

Leave a Reply

