Skip to content

Vitamin D, my new drug of choice

February 9, 2010

Caffeine in any form has always been my drug of choice, hands down; but I think I’ve found something better.

My doctor called yesterday letting me know that he was right–my vitamin D levels are really low. I’m at 18, and they need to be between 32 and 100!

After looking up symptoms of vitamin D deficiency, everything seems familiar. Fatigue, check. Symptoms of depression, check. Sleep irregularities, check. Muscle aches, check. Low energy levels, check check. Trouble regulating weight, check.

I’m waiting on my prescription to come in the mail, but until then, I had some vitamin D laying around the house that I started taking yesterday. The doctor suggested 2000 IU a day. My pills are only 400 IU, so I took a few. And hello! I felt like I was on a caffeine high about to grow wings and fly. FROM VITAMIN D!!! Seriously?

Then, I was wondering, if this was how I should be feeling all the time. Maybe not the flying thing, but alert and awake.

I wonder if they make a caramel mocha vitamin D pill.

(PS: I thought this was interesting. I drink a lot of milk, so I thought it was odd that I’m so low on vit. D. Turns out, to get what I need, I’d have to drink 40 glasses of milk a day!!! Do you know how many calories that would be? Besides, I’d be sick from milk overload!)

One Comment leave one →
  1. deena permalink
    February 9, 2010 4:16 pm

    holy moly.

Leave a Reply

