Skip to content

Without Interruptions

December 30, 2009

I’ve battled insomnia for the past month or so and as much as I wanted to sleep and hated how tired I was the next day, I loved watching Grey’s Anatomy in the stillness of the night all by myself.

Last night, around 10 pm I was fading quickly and said I was going to bed. I was kind of excited to be that sleepy so early, but I pulled out my new Pioneer Woman Cookbook and started reading in bed. With heavy eyes, I kept reading til 12:30. Reid had been watching TV and didn’t realize I was still up. He actually was a annoyed I hadn’t gone to sleep.

He asked why I stayed up instead of sleeping.

Silence.

Then it hit me. Throughout the day, there are plenty of interruptions and my time doesn’t feel like it’s my own. I shower in a hurry, clean in a hurry, check my e-mail in a hurry. All because I don’t want to take away time from Jack and some days he needs me more than others.

But, when he goes to bed at night, I know I can do whatever I want, for as long as I want without getting distracted or interrupted. My time becomes my own again. Not that I mind being with Jack all day, but everyone needs some alone time.

Maybe I need to budget my alone time a little better because I still need my sleep.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Courtney permalink
    January 2, 2010 10:17 pm

    I got the PW Cookbook for Christmas and so I totally understand how you could stay up late reading it. I love PW and the recipes we’ve tried so far have been good. I’m also glad to know that I’m not the only person reading cookbooks.

Leave a Reply

