Skip to content

Meet my new running partner!

December 29, 2009

Ok, I got a Garmin Forerunner, as mentioned before. I don’t have a picture, but he needs a name!!! I’ve thought of the following: Henry, Mr. G, or Siegfried. Or maybe Wilferd. I’m open to options, so let me know what you think.

Today was slightly warmer than usual and by that I mean around 50 degrees, so I was ready to try out my new running gear.

I even “ate” one of my energy gels just to see what it tasted like. Granted, I didn’t actually need it since I knew I was going for a short run, but I was just so curious. It tasted so good, like brownie batter. Yum! However, I’m not sure how good that’ll taste when I really do need it and I’m hot and sweaty, in the middle of a long workout. Oh well.

So, here I am in all my gear.
(PS: Reid was like “can you not just take a normal picture, why do you always have to be doing a pose?”)
iPod, headphones, iPod strap, Garmin Forerunner, heart rate monitor, and Camelbak. I’d say that’s ready to go. I did feel a little funny with all this gear on, knowing that I’m only going for 2 miles, but look like I should be in the mountains for hours.

I started out the front door feeling good since I looked the part of a serious athlete. And as I started running, I figured out that I’m not as slow as I thought. I figured out my problem. I was running too fast- at a 9:10 pace, that I couldn’t keep up with and my heart rate would get too high (190), so I’d have to stop and walk, which causes me to take a long time to run a mile when I continue doing that over and over.

It was incredible! All this time I thought I was super slow, but I just had the wrong method and needed to work on my endurance. So, I kept a close watch on my speed, trying to stay at a 10:30 pace, which felt comfortable. The pace thing was harder than I thought b/c if a song I’d like would come on I’d find myself running at a 8:30 pace, but then I’d give out.

My heart rate was still higher than I’d like, but that’ll get better in time as I condition my heart.

So, for today, I like running.

One Comment leave one →
  1. ryansamantha permalink
    December 31, 2009 7:36 am

    Girl! That’s great! And you look pretty awesome, too!!

Leave a Reply

