Skip to content

Why even do this…

December 15, 2009

Sunday night’s run messed with my head. I set out to do 3 miles (but only did 2.7 b/c I missed a street). After the first mile I was ready to call it a night and head home.

All I could think was “What am I doing this for!?” Then, it was “This is stupid, just go home. No one will know or care.” The only thing that got me through the run was the Glee soundtrack.

Sure, I want to lose weight and be more physically fit, but there are other ways besides running.

I couldn’t come up with an answer that really motivated me.

Here’s what I came up with…
1) I actually like running, sometimes; especially how accomplished I feel afterward
2) To prove to myself that I can do it
3) I like how it’s changing the shape of my legs
4) Lame, but a lot of my friends are runners and that makes me want to do it, too.

I’ve recovered from Sunday and will be running either tonight or tomorrow. I think it was just mentally a bad night. I love working out, but there are times I just have to force myself to do it; running is the same way.

What keeps you running?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Papa permalink
    December 15, 2009 4:09 pm

    It’s the weather. All this reain and clouds is effecting everybody. Just makes you feer “Yuck”.

  2. Cammie permalink
    December 15, 2009 4:48 pm

    Just for a moment, I thought that was a picture of Reid. lol

  3. December 15, 2009 7:26 pm

    Hey Ashley! I think you’ve commented on my blog a few times and I re-found your blog through Magen’s…

    Anyway, I’m a “runner” and I can feel your pain. I think you are right on when it comes to a mental thing…some days are good and some aren’t.

    I love to run because I love to be outside, and I love the way I feel afterwards.

    I hate giving advice to people, especially people I don’t really know :), but here are somethings that have helped me.

    1) Runners World magazine. A lot of the people are obsessed with running, but reading the stories has helped me feel really motivated.

    2) Running early in the day. I don’t know what your schedule is like, but the earlier I go, the better I feel. I think it’s because I am not thinking about all the food I ate that day…it’s a blank slate run and when I run early, it also motivates me to eat better during the day.

    Okay, sorry for such a long comment! I’m definitely not an expert, but wanted to share with you some things that have helped me! Keep pressing on!!! 3 (or 2.7) miles is really, really great.

Leave a Reply

