Skip to content

Appreciating the Now

December 11, 2009

Despite my sister-in-law and brother-in-law telling us how easy Jack is/was when he was a newborn, we didn’t fully understand what they were saying. They talked of taking their firstborn with them to restaurants, shopping, etc and it was incredible because she’d sleep the whole time.

When Jack was firstborn, I didn’t think I was going to survive, much less take him out to eat with us.

Time has proven that I did survive and looking back I wish I would have fully appreciated the easiness of a newborn. They really do sleep ALL the time.

Jack’s still an easy baby. I’ve learned to appreciate his laidbackness. People continually ask if he’s crawling and are taken back when I tell them no.

Honestly, I am so thankful he’s not crawling yet. I can leave him in the living room while I go to the office or the bathroom and not have to worry what he’s going to be into when I get back. I know he’ll be right where I left him.

I’m appreciating him being an easy shopper. We were shopping the other day and I witnessed a mom with two toddlers trying to shop. Her experience was nothing like mine. Jack isn’t getting into other stuff, reaching for cookies, screaming for a toy, etc etc. And that day will come, I’m sure, but for now he just sits in the stroller with his feet propped up.

This can’t be comfortable, but this is how he ends up sometimes when we shop.

Too many Jacks!

Well, hello there!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 11, 2009 4:15 pm

    Ooh, be sooooo glad that he isn’t crawling yet! If he is anything like Emily, he will follow you everywhere you go, including the bathroom. Emily will pull up on my legs when I am on the toilet and try to peek inside and she always crawls into the shower with me. I would shut the door but I hate to make her cry!

Leave a Reply

