Skip to content

Late Night Parties

December 10, 2009

Jack’s fifth tooth popped through last night (on the bottom) and now the sixth and seventh are barely peeking through the top.

It’s funny, I wouldn’t even know anything was going on in his mouth because I don’t look in his mouth that much. Even when I brush his teeth, I’m just thankful he lets me in his mouth and doesn’t complain, so I don’t do a lot of probing. Today I realized the new tooth because he cried with his mouth wide open.

I will say, knock on wood (and don’t hate me), that he’s been pretty great with the teething, thus far. He’s been pretty good during the day. Last week seemed a little iffy because he wasn’t eating. Thats a whole different story.

The only time we’ve noticed discomfort is Jack waking up once a night the past couple of days. Complete silence, then just a scream of terror from nowhere.

Want to hear our incredible parenting skills?? Ok, I’ll share. Last night, the scream of terror comes and nothing we do calms him down which is odd. This is not like him. We medicine him up with the orajel and whatnot, walk around, try to feed him, etc etc. NOTHING works. But then, I put on The Backyardigans and it’s like magic. Silence.

We’ve tried other cartoons but nothing is as mesmerizing as Backyardigans. We let him watch about ten minutes, just enough to let him relax, and then put him to bed. And he’s great.

Now, tonight at midnight I was still awake because Deena had just left. Reid’s asleep and I need something to distract him while I make a bottle. What do I do? Chewbacca.

I place Jack on the floor next the kitchen, then Chewy rubs against Jack and Jack pets him while I make a bottle. Silence, once again. I use my cat as a babysitter. Chewy even laid down next to Jack while Jack continued to pet him. Craziness!

So, there’s the basis of how great of parents we are— TV and letting the cat babysit our kid. I bet you won’t see that in any parenting books.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rita permalink
    December 10, 2009 9:05 am

    Girl, sounds good to me — you do what works!!

  2. Cammie permalink
    December 10, 2009 4:41 pm

    Girl,
    You gotta do what you gotta do!

  3. December 11, 2009 11:29 am

    I LOVE the Backyardigans!!! I want to get a few DVD’s for Breeson. Ever since I saw it at my mom’s house (for the Grandkids) I’ve wanted it. I even enjoy watching them. They’re adorable.

Leave a Reply

