Skip to content

The 12 Minute Mile Blues

December 3, 2009

Hi, my name is Ashley and turtles run faster than me.

Last night brought a harsh reality. Not wanting to go to the gym, I bundled up for a run outside. It was a horrible run.

It was so nice to run while looking at the neighbors’ Christmas lights, but I quickly became distracted by how terrible I felt. I had TCBY beforehand, but thought it had settled, but I guess not. And my running tights were tight on my tummy.

Then, I kept coughing and even stopped a couple times, thinking I was going to throw up. I noticed my heart rate was 190, so that was my fault.

After 20 minutes, I surrendered and came home. After mapping my route and doing calculations found online, I realized my pace for that run was at 13.52 a mile.

So, I talked myself down, saying, “Oh, it’s cold and the yogurt and the blahblahaha” Excuses, excuses. After a few minutes, I changed my wardrobe so I was more comfortable and went out running once again.

Determined to prove to myself, and Reid, that I’m not that slow.

14 minutes later, I do all the calculations once again and realize I ran at a 12 minute mile pace. And I thought I was doing great.

Then, Reid progress to tell me that I’m not pushing myself hard enough and not running often enough. All the while, I keep telling myself “I will not cry, I will not cry, I will not cry.”

This is me accepting that it takes me 12 minutes to run a mile. I’m not proud of it, but at least I know my weakness and what I need to work on.

It can only get better from here.

PS: I remember trying to run in the cold a couple years ago with Reid and I always felt like throwing up and couldn’t stop coughing, so it wasn’t just the TCBY. Has anyone else experienced this and does your body eventually adjust??

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sheena permalink
    December 4, 2009 5:59 am

    i HATE running in the cold…and the hot.
    that’s why i go to the gym.
    don’t get discouraged ashley!
    you gotta start somewhere…i’ve had to start over some too.
    i went to the gym the other day and did what used to be easy for me on the treadmill only this time i almost died.

  2. amymezzell permalink
    December 4, 2009 9:32 am

    Speed is not where it’s at, so that doesn’t matter at all. Isn’t it more about the amount of time that your heart rate is up?

    About getting sick – that is how I feel ALOT when I do physical activity. I used to say I was allergic to physical activiy, but that was mostly a joke. However, I have almost thrown up NUMEROUS times, including when I walk, run, bike, or play sports/games outside. I have no idea what it is, but I’ve always been this way. I do think it will get some better after regularly exercising/doing whatever makes you eventually feel sick (for me mostly within the past year is when I try to ride my bike to work – I always get sick near the end, and it’s not a hard ride). I am not sure it will ever completely stop, though.

Leave a Reply

