Skip to content

Can we take your picture?

October 21, 2009
by

A new gym opened close to our house this past week and I’ve been itching to try it out. I can work out at home, but I love working out at a gym. It’s a great time for me to get away from home, be along, etc.

It’s a small gym, but very friendly. I got through all the paperwork and what not for the seven day trial and hopped on the elliptical. Well, then the local newspaper comes in snapping pictures, asking me if they can take my picture. Ugh. I’m not wearing make up, I probably have spit up on my shirt, haven’t showered yet, and I’m working out and you want to take my picture? Um, whatever.

So, I agree, but then move to the weights to get away from the camera. Then, they come over there, chatting with me and I’m like uh huh, ok, yeah. Then, the owner’s son (maybe age 3) runs around me while I’m trying to focus. And the staff is just laughing and trying to talk with me. Again, small gym.

I couldn’t take it anymore, so I left. They even said, “Oh, you’re already leaving? Did you really do a full workout?” This is my time to not talk, not entertain anyone, not do anything or care for anyone else, and you’re bothering me! I didn’t say that, I just said I needed to get home.

I think they’re trying to be overly friendly because they’re new and they want my membership, or my money. Surely, it’ll die down. Regardless, I wasn’t really impressed with the set up or equipment. The gym I used a trial for a couple months ago was my favorite, thus far, but it’s too much money a month. Looks like it might be time to drag out Tony Horton again.

PS: If you have a gym membership somewhere and you’re not using it, feel free to share….I’m not even kidding.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

