Skip to content

Scary Motivation

September 8, 2009
by

After driving to the track with my plan written down for my 2.5 mile walk/run tonight, I was annoyed to find the jr. varsity had a game tonight, so I drove home.

I was trying not to get mad. I had planned all day the exact time I would run, what I would eat and what time I’d eat beforehand, etc.

So, I pulled up gmaps pedometer and planned my run in the neighborhood.

Reid wanted me to take my cell phone since it was dark, but there was no place for it, and I wasn’t going to miss this workout just b/c it was dark, so off I went.

Ok, they’re doing construction a couple of streets down. In the dark, it looks like a scene from Close Encounters of the Third Kind. I’ll take a picture sometime to prove it. I ran so fast to get away from it, you know, just in case something (like an alien or scary person) jumped out of the dark, deep hole.

I got to another joining neighborhood and their stupid lights were out in most of it. I kept thinking of what Reid told me before I left–“if someone comes after you, make sure to run really fast.” So, I did. My mind kept coming up with all these crazy situations.

I blame Theresa, a former roommate in college. She always could twist the happiest situation in her mind to something possibly scary. It must have rubbed off.

Despite the fear, I ran my three miles. And survived the black hole of darkness.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. deena permalink
    September 9, 2009 1:46 am

    the whole time i was reading, i kept thinking about Theresa and then you referenced her : ) Bahahahaha!

  2. Samantha permalink
    September 9, 2009 7:48 am

    Yesterday I ran in the dark too and almost gotc
    eaten alive by a snake.. Okay, well not eaten but seriously, I could have easily been bit by it! Ryan laughed and laughed because he couldn’t believe how fast I ran when I saw it! I think I increased my mile by 30 seconds! 😉

Leave a Reply

