Skip to content

Monster in my Tummy

September 7, 2009

Confession time.

In trying to lose weight, I sometimes opt for whatever will help my body lose weight the fastest, instead of what may be the healthier choice. Ok, that sounds worse than it is. Maybe what I mean to say is that my focus is normally on weight loss, rather than being healthy. As I get older, I realize the importance of keeping my body healthy.

I’m trying to shift my mindset and also add more greens to my diet.

In doing so, I decided to try a Green Monster today. Yes, I just said Green Monster. It’s basically a green smoothie, full of kale or spinach, seeds, fruit, etc.

Reid would rather eat a salad, which is understandable. I, however, love to have shakes or smoothies in the morning or after a workout, so this is a perfect way to sneak in some extra vitamins and get an energy boost at the same time.

I added a packet of Amazing Grass to mine today just to try, but you don’t have to; it just adds a bit of protein. I used the original flavor today, but can’t wait to try the chocolate tomorrow (or maybe even this afternoon!).

Ingredients:

* 2 cups of baby spinach leaves
* 1.25 cups of milk
* 1 T. flax
* 1 banana
* ice
* 1 packet of Amazing Grass (optional)

Finished product:

Taste test:

I got really nervous mixing it up because it looked weird and green. I normally don’t drink green things. After smelling and deciding it was safe, I went for it. It was actually really good! I might just be a convert.

If this does become a regular thing, I’ll be passing on the Amazing Grass packet as it’s kind of pricey.

Hmm…I wonder if I can add my protein powder to this…I’ll have to do some experiments later.

UPDATE:
I made the chocolate and then poured it down the drain. Gross!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Steph Z permalink
    September 7, 2009 5:29 pm

    Ashley…I don’t think I could do it!

  2. September 8, 2009 8:48 am

    it actually doesn’t look too bad. What is the “Almond Breeze” box? Is that milk? And is it Soy?

  3. September 8, 2009 12:13 pm

    Joy, it’s soy milk. I was just trying it for taste, but I’ll probably stick with non-fat milk.

  4. deena permalink
    September 8, 2009 2:06 pm

    i love that it’s in a guinness glass : )

Leave a Reply

