Skip to content

Talking myself into a 1/2 marathon

August 31, 2009

I stepped on the treadmill yesterday, promising myself I’d run a mile.

I ended up getting off the treadmill at 3.04 miles.

Mind you, I didn’t run the whole time.

I walked the first five minutes as a warm up, then ran til I hit a mile. Then walked for a bit, then ran til hit another mile. Then walked 1/2 a mile, and finished with running.

Total time? 42.30. {Everyone’s gotta start somewhere, right!?}

Not great. But not horrifying.

My legs hurt so bad in the process. I was swearing in my head most of the time.

When I turned to get off the treadmill, I lost my balance a bit. I felt great, but a little defeated that it killed me so much.

As the day wore on, I felt better and better about it.

The thought of running for over 2 hours blows my mind. I need to find some podcasts or books on tape. Hmm…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 6:52 am

    I have been contemplating running in a half marathon next year, too! I have been actually looking at one that is in Seaside, FL because it is one of my favorite places… I figure, if I am going to run THAT far, it better be somewhere with lots to see!!

  2. September 1, 2009 9:25 am

    you girls can do it!! one mile at a time…one mile at a time…

Leave a Reply

