Skip to content

Job Perspectives

August 11, 2009
by

I graduated college not having a clue what I wanted to do when I “grew up.”

Worked a few jobs just to have a job, yet was picky about those.

Then, decided to be a personal trainer, as a career.

I’ve always been selective about where I worked or what I would do as a job.

Now, not so much. Anything part-time that wants to pay me is good. Nights and weekends, which I’ve never wanted to work before, are appealing so Reid can keep Jack while I work.

I’ve sent out numerous resumes and applications and have heard nothing back.

Last week alone, I counted 12 resumes that I sent out. Then, out of desperation, called 18 local gyms to ask if they were hiring.

The phone calls are always a shot in the dark, but they’re starting to pay off. I have two interviews last week. One, in which, was really great. If all goes well, I’ll have two more interviews with the company.

I really didn’t enjoy staying at home with Jack the first couple of months; I felt isolated and discontent with being a mother to a child that had no response to me.

But now, I’ve gotten to where I love staying home with him; plus, it scares me to think about someone else taking care of him during the day. Sure, looking for jobs is super frustrating, but I’m trying to enjoy my time off for now because I’m sure once I do get a job, I’ll miss the freedom and time I have with Jack.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 12, 2009 10:16 am

    I know Jamie can relate to you! He doesn’t enjoy being Mr. Mom, but at the same time, he’s trying to enjoy his time with Breeson. Jamie’s been looking for a job since February and has sent TONS of resumes out – so don’t get discouraged, Ash!!
    Hope the next round of interviews go well, hopefully they’ll call you soon.

Leave a Reply

