Skip to content

Cleaning Schedule

August 4, 2009

I’m currently making a weekly cleaning schedule. Who am I!?!

See, I read a friend’s blog a while back that has a schedule- like Mopping Monday (vacuums and mops all the floors), Washing Wednesday (does all laundry), etc etc.

My first reaction was “Wow, what a dork.” The same reaction you’re probably having of me right now.

But, the more I thought about it, the more I think it’d be a good idea for me. I could use a little more discipline in my life in this area.

Honestly, Reid is the cleaner of the family. He cleans more than I do and he’s better at it. He’s more about the details- the dusting and the moving everything off the kitchen counters to get every square inch clean. I’m guilty of just clean what’s visible.

I usually start laundry on Sunday and keep doing it all week, taking my sweet time folding and putting away and getting distracted by cleaning other stuff. In short, nothing ever gets fully done.

Anyone else have a schedule like this? Eve if not written, just me

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2009 9:40 pm

    I’ve thought about making one, but that is as far as I’ve gotten. They have a good schedule in the back of The Nest magazing…like telling you what you should do weekly, monthly, etc. You could maybe try looking on their website or something to get help in that dept., then pick what days you wanna do that stuff.

  2. August 5, 2009 9:42 am

    way to go, Ash. Lemme know how that works out for ya!! 😉

  3. August 5, 2009 3:40 pm

    I wish I really could do that. If I had the time, I would. I know that sounds crazy…bc a cleaning schedule would help….but I just do other stuff instead. I really hope it works for you!

  4. lynnkz permalink
    August 9, 2009 2:39 pm

    I have tried all kinds of systems and can never seem to stick with them. I even put together a notebook once (I think it was during a FlyLady phase). But after 20 years of marriage, I have determined that the three most important things to me are clean laundry, clean bathrooms, and a clean kitchen.

    I do laundry once a week – 2 loads Saturday, 2 loads Sunday. I try to get everything folded and put away by Sunday evening.

    I clean bathrooms on the weekends. I do the powder room Saturday morning before I shower and the upstairs bathrooms Sunday before I shower. If they look OK, I may occasionally skip a weekend.

    The kitchen we keep up on a daily basis – dishwasher gets loaded and run after dinner and table and counters are wiped down. My husband usually helps with this. I try to empty the dishwasher the next morning so it is ready to go for dinner that evening.

    I run the vacuum and dust when I think about it, things get gross, or we have company coming. Same for most other cleaning, like mopping, etc.

Leave a Reply

