Skip to content

So Long, Friend

May 19, 2009

My Dearest DVR and Satellite,

It has come time to part ways. I hope you are not insulted, as you will be greatly missed. No offense Satellite, but I shall miss DVR most of all. I have loved you since the first time I was able to pause the channel, only to fast forward through commercials later on.

I don’t remember life before you. Your convenience has brought great entertainment in our household. The joy of watching any television show I’ve recorded at any time I chose seemed a necessity. How could one live without such a companion?

Please understand that great thought went into this decision. While we do enjoy you, we’ll also enjoy the extra money we’ll save. We’ll also enjoy a simplicity that you cannot offer. Sure, I’ll miss Tori and Dean, but I can learn to live without.

Maybe I’ll even pick up a book. Maybe I’ll be less tempted to spend time with my TV rather than playing with my child.

I was shocked when Reid explained I had to literally change the channel like the olden days to see what was on TV. Satellite, you’re no longer needed with your fancy guide considering we’ll only have a handful of channels.

We might call on you again in the future, but don’t get your hopes up. Don’t cry, but I may not miss you at all. Sometimes I just use you because you’re there.

Don’t feel sorry for us, sweet electronics. You see, the money we save goes directly into our Disney 2009 fund. So, when I start to miss you, I’ll just think of hanging out with Mickey and going as fast as I can on the teacups. That makes it all worth it.

You’re already neatly packed away in your nice boxes. We hope another nice family will take you in.

Yours truly,
The Davis Family

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cammie permalink
    May 20, 2009 6:49 pm

    Ummm….did you say DISNEY? When are we
    going? Do I need to start packing?

  2. May 22, 2009 1:43 pm

    If you still want a DVR without the monthly fee, you should check out the DTVPal DVR. Sally and I have had ours for a few months now, and it’s great. It’s made by dish network, but it tunes in over-the-air digital broadcasts. You still get the channel guide, too, which is nice for recording. The only down side is that it’s not cheap (~$300) but it’s still less than a year of cable.

Leave a Reply

