Skip to content

P90X Update

May 18, 2009

I’ve slowly given up on P90x. It’s not out of laziness, or at least I don’t think of it that way.

Here’s my reasoning:
1. Sure, working out at home is convenient. However, going to the gym is a release for me. It grants me time alone with my iPod and time out of the house. I’m too distracted at home–laundry to be done, kitchen to be cleaned, baby monitor to watch, baby to console in the middle of my workout, etc etc. Taking care of Jack during a workout is stressful for me.

2. It’s discouraging. Geez louise. P90X makes me feel like the least athletic person ever. There’s only so many push-ups I can do in one hour, therefore, I sit on my couch and watch the people on TV do them. Sure, I could build up to it, but until then, I feel stupid.

I consider those big reasons. So, I’m finding compromise. I’ve written down the P90X workouts so I can follow the same routine at the gym on my own terms. I already feel 10 times better about it!

Plus, if I get in a time crunch and can’t get to the gym that day, I always have P90X DVDs to fall back on.

I went to the gym yesterday and set a goal of burning 500 calories before I would allow myself to leave. I ended at 657 calories in an hour and eleven minutes. Needless to say, I love working out at the gym when I get in that mode. Not all days, but most.

the end.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 18, 2009 8:36 am

    : )

Leave a Reply

