Skip to content

Slowly Adjusting

May 4, 2009
by

One of my best friends from high school was in town over the weekend. During our time of catch up, I talked about how Jack was starting to only get up every four hours at night and how great it is. I had to explain that he was getting up every two hours to get her to realize just how amazing this is*. She didn’t see how we could get up so often in the middle of the night.

Honestly, it doesn’t phase me anymore. This seems normal. What? You don’t get up three or four times a night!? That’s crazy!

I love my sleep. I can sleep for 12 hours straight and then some. If I can do this, anyone can.

I’m coming to grips with things lately. The fact that I’m a mother and Jack is my child. That he is never leaving, he lives with us 24/7. That I’m not off on the weekends. That life is not over. That life is pretty funny with Jack around. That leaving the house takes more effort than it once did, but is not as scary anymore.

Jack truly is our child. He is up and down just like me and Reid. He was in such a great mood on Saturday. Happiest baby ever (except for bedtime). And then came Sunday. Grouchiest baby ever. Nothing made him happy. And today? He’s happy.

I’m realizing that it’s ok if my house isn’t clean. Some days I just don’t have time. Or energy.

Ok, that’s all for now because I hear a baby waking up and I still need to eat breakfast while I have a chance.

* I’m too tired this morning to figure out a way to not end my sentences with “is.” I apologize.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 1:08 pm

    i love you. i can’t wait to see you and Jack when we come in June. 🙂 It’s not far…

Leave a Reply

