Skip to content

One Month

April 27, 2009
by

Dear Jack,

You are officially one month old today! This has been the longest and shortest month of my life, thus far. Honestly, I think Dad and I are just excited that we all three survived. We had our doubts that we could even care for you, so the fact that we’re all alive and happy is great!

You’re a pretty quiet baby, except when you’re hungry. When it’s time to eat, which is every 3 hours, you cry as if we’ve never fed you. This proves you get your patience from me. There’s this high pitched squeal you make that always makes us laugh, even at 3 am. I’m hoping to get this on camera so we can keep laughing about it. I also plan to wake you up really early when you’re trying to sleep in as a teenager as payback. Ok, I may not actually ever do this, but the thought has crossed my mind.

Family, friends, and strangers comment about how small you are and your cuteness. Most people can’t believe how tiny you are. Sometimes it gets annoying, so I try to hide you under blankets in the grocery store.

You, my friend, are getting some of the chubbiest cheeks. I can’t stop kissing them! A double chin has never been cuter!

I wish there was a way to restrain your arms because they get in the way! Your arms flail about while we try to feed you and you’re constantly clawing at your face with your talon-like nails. Oh, we’ve tried to strap your arms down when we swaddle you, but you’d think we were putting you in a straight jacket the way you act about it. Let’s work on this.

Something else we need to work on is the bathtub issue. Every time I put you in the bathtub you pee. Every single time. I guess I shouldn’t complain because I’d much rather you pee in the tub than poop, which I’m sure will happen one day.

I refer to myself in the third person when talking to you because I’m selfishly determined for your first word to be Mommy or Mama. I think I deserve it since I gave birth to you and all.

We laugh at you a lot. You’re constantly making funny noises and crazy faces. I can’t wait for you to smile at me and actually mean it. I swear that you grinned at me this morning while I sang songs from Wicked to you.

We never imagined that you’d get to meet your great-grandfather on Dad’s side of the family before he passed away. I believe that’s why you were born early. He was the one that really wanted for you to be a boy. He was so excited about you! The day after you were born, Papa had a picture of you blown up poster sized to make sure Granddaddy got to see you. Your lips and chin are starting to fill out, but sometimes when you cry or make faces, they look just like his. I believe God did this on purpose.

I hate that you won’t remember him. I also hate that my grandmother never got to meet you. She knew about you and was excited too, but passed before you were born. I know she would have loved you. She probably would have even given you a crazy nickname like she did me (what in the world is a lamb-bug anyway?).

I hope one day you’ll realize how much you’re loved and not just by your Dad and me. Mimi, Pops, Nana and Papa can’t get enough of you. They miss you even after being away just a couple of hours. I know they’d do anything for you. I hope you never take this for granted.

You really are too cute. When you curl up on my shoulder and fall asleep, I wish I could stop time and make that moment last forever. I know one day you won’t want to cuddle anymore and I understand, but for now, I’m going to get all the cuddling in that I can.

I look forward to another month with you. I can’t wait to see how much you change and grow. To see you develop your personality. To see you experience things for the first time. Thanks for being such a sweet little boy!

Love,
Mom






5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2009 12:19 pm

    what a great letter to jack. thanks for sharing it.
    -c

  2. samantha permalink
    April 27, 2009 2:50 pm

    Brought tears to my eyes-so beautiful! I feel a little bad for complaining so much these days…a good reminder that there are some very precious things about infancy! 🙂

  3. Cammie permalink
    April 27, 2009 8:40 pm

    What a tribute Ashley! I believe Jack joined us early for the same reason. Although Grandaddy only met him once he loved him a ton. He was so excited about having a “Davis”. (As if there aren’t enough.)

  4. April 28, 2009 8:27 am

    You made me cry! That is the sweetest thing. Make sure you save this to your computer – not just your blog! So sweet.

  5. April 28, 2009 4:37 pm

    that’s awesome, Ash. Make sure you print that out so he can read it someday.
    love you tons.
    joy

Leave a Reply

