Skip to content

Alone Time

April 24, 2009
by

I think it’s starting to hit me that I’m missing “me time.” With Reid being sick and also working late to make up hours, I don’t have much time outside of the house by myself. And if I do go somewhere by myself, its always the grocery store or the gym.

I love being at home with Jack. However, I need adult conversation that’s not just chatting online or reading blogs.

Half the time, I get caught up in taking care of Jack, cleaning the kitchen, doing laundry (almost EVERYDAY!), that I forget to eat, shower and sometimes, even to brush my teeth, when I get the chance. Reid comes home and I’m almost embarrassed to still be in pj’s with no make up and hair all over the place. Chances are, I haven’t looked in the mirror at all by then.

Yesterday I kinda laughed at myself because part of Jack’s awake time was spent in the bouncy seat in our bathroom so I could take a shower and keep an eye on him before Reid got home from work.

I’m not upset about any of this, I’m just realizing I miss being alone sometimes. And when I mean alone, I don’t mean taking a nap alone or watching the baby monitor the whole time and thinking what time Jack eats next type alone. Alone without a schedule.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. meganbhulsey permalink
    April 25, 2009 9:41 am

    Whoa. I swear, every time I read your blog, I always think, “me too”! I feel exactly the way you do. About everything. I need time for myself and rarely get it. Most days, I’m in my pajamas until I take a shower – just before going to bed for the night. And I often forget to brush my teeth until Denny gets home, gives me a kiss, and asks me if I’ve brushed. I sometimes feel like a failure as a mom, like I should be able to accomplish so much more. Because I am not “just” a mom – there is still a “me” somewhere deep inside that needs to shine through.

    I’m guessing that every new mom goes through this to some degree. And although I hate that Emily is growing so fast, at the same time, I can’t wait until she is more independent. And I can get more time for me.

  2. April 25, 2009 11:59 am

    I feel the same way about him growing up– it kills me that he’s already outgrown a couple of outfits and that he’s getting older…but my goodness, if he could even hold his own bottle, I’d love it!

  3. hollydoodle00 permalink
    April 27, 2009 12:47 pm

    Yeah…I miss my time, too. You think it’s hard when you are married…then you have a kid and you’re like “seriously, I need some time!” You just kinda have to make time. I know it sounds so corny…but it’s true. And you’ll go home all the more excited about being there.

Leave a Reply

