Skip to content

Two for Two? Let’s hope so…

April 23, 2009

I think we may have broken Jack’s habit of wanting to party til 2 or 3 am. He wouldn’t cry, he just didn’t want to be in his crib or sleep; he’d rather stay up and play.

Three things I’ve changed that I think have helped:
1. Starting our day at 7 am, instead of 11 am. I was trying to catch up on sleep, so I’d let him sleep after his feeding at 6 or 7. Now, we have play time then and start our routine.
2. Making sure he stays awake after two or three of his feedings during the day instead of letting him fall back to sleep.
3. Starting a nighttime routine so he realizes its different from our morning routine and that it’s time for bed. (Thank you, Alli Shirley!!)

Last night he went to bed at 9 pm and fell right to sleep. He stayed on his regular schedule of waking up every 3 hours to eat. I’ll take that over staying up from 9-2 am anytime.

I’m scared of posting this blog because the night is still young. Just because he’s asleep right now doesn’t mean he’ll go back to sleep after his next feeding. We’ll see…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2009 7:06 am

    i love the “o sweet mercy” tag : )

  2. amymezzell permalink
    April 24, 2009 7:30 am

    Your first line seriously made me laugh out loud. I’m glad everything’s getting better!

    Three people I work with have babies around 1.5 years old, and I’ve heard thoroughly the importance of bedtime routines and routines in general. One person is on such a schedule that her son goes to bed every night at 6:30 PM. Can you imagine how much you could get done with a few good hours left in the day? I could never follow a super strict routine (like you said you couldn’t), but it works for them. Anyway, she read some book on the importance of scheduling and has stuck to it religiously claiming how awesome it is!

Leave a Reply

