Skip to content

Getting Out of the House

April 21, 2009
by

Jack and I had an extended outing today. We hung out at Books-a-Million for a little bit. I skimmed some magazines and books, while he slept. I started reading Jenny McCarthy’s Baby Laughs and it’s too funny! I related so much to the first few chapters I read.

Then we went to Wal-Mart.

I found something worse than strangers touching your pregnant belly and making comments–strangers wanting to touch your newborn and make crazy comments. I finally put one of his blankets over his car seat thinking people would stop talking to us, but no. The woman behind me in the checkout line had the nerve to remove the blanket without asking and try to touch him while I was checking out. What in the world!?

Then, Jack and I got some books and CD’s from the library. I checked out On Becoming Baby Wise. I don’t really agree with a lot of the material, but I want to see what it says about sleeping patterns.

I decided to take the freeze off my gym account tonight since I feel pretty good to workout with weights now.

We’re trying to wear Jack out so he’ll go to bed earlier than 3 am tonight. We shall see…

Want to know the best coffee in the world? Ok! It’s decaf White Russian. I have at least one cup a day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Taren permalink
    April 21, 2009 9:35 pm

    Hey… I am reading a book right now and I really think you would like it. It’s called It Sucked and Then I Cried: How I Had a Baby, a Breakdown, and a Much Needed Margarita by Heather B. Armstrong. (I’m not pregnant…I am a reader of her blog: http://www.dooce.com) Have you heard of her before? Her stories make me laugh so hard sometimes. πŸ™‚

  2. samantha permalink
    April 21, 2009 9:40 pm

    I have been reading On Becoming Babywise myself…my mom gave it to me-highly recommends it! I must say I have been mostly interested in reading about the sleeping, too-hopefully we’ll find something helpful there! I also have been reading Baby Laughs-too funny!! It’s good to be able to laugh at myself because I relate so much to what she says! πŸ™‚

  3. amymezzell permalink
    April 22, 2009 9:04 am

    Oh gosh – that coffee sounds perfect. Where can I get it?

Leave a Reply

