Skip to content

Weight Issues: Perspective from the other side

April 3, 2009

Now that pregnancy is over, I’ll admit that I gained 50 pounds. I blame the baby. I blame the preeclampsia. And I blame the makers of Dr. Pepper and Chick-fil-A waffle fries.

With so many other women I know being pregnant at the same time, weight was something we joked about, but I think we were/are all a little self-conscious about, too. I made fun of it to keep myself from getting upset. Some remarks have been made about how much so-and-so has gained or where they have gained.

Its all a bit ridiculous.

Now that Jack is here and I’ve been able to grasp how amazing it is that he was able to grow inside of me and come out perfectly healthy, it makes anything to do with weight during pregnancy such a petty, petty thing.

Of course, it took having him to gain that perspective.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad to see the fifty pounds start to slip away considering they’re not needed anymore. I just wish I would have realized how small weight is in light of what is really going on with my body during pregnancy.

That’s all I’ll say about that.

the end.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kari Bankston permalink
    April 3, 2009 9:28 am

    Amen Sister!!! I am so going to take your philosophy on this issue because I am one of those self conscious weight gainers during this pregnancy, but I have started to look at it as it is bound to happen so I am going to embrace it. You’re right the pounds can come off with a little work and effort put into it. We were once heavy workouters, and we will be again. Jack is absolutely adorable, and you look like you are really enjoying motherhood:) It suits you my friend!!!!

Leave a Reply

