Skip to content

March 27th

March 24, 2009

After a long doctor’s appointment today, it was decided that Friday would be the best day to induce. It feels weird to even type that!!

My BP gets super high (exp: 142/108) when I do the smallest things, like going to the bathroom and getting back in the bed. It goes down a little after a while. My doctor is concerned that if we prolong labor, my BP won’t come down as quickly or as much anymore, causing problems for me and Jack. However, my doctor is also concerned with Jack being so small and the fact that we can’t know for sure how well his lungs will be if he’s born this week.

These thoughts/concerns led to the appointment being so long. Weighing all the options. Taking my BP numerous times. Doing a “special exam” to see if a c-section is the best route or if inducing is still possible.

I appreciate my doctor not jumping to one quick solution, but trying to talk everything through. But, it was a little odd to see the doctor so perplexed about what the best solution would be.

Friday puts me right after the magic 37 weeks. Of course, the doctor said that we can never know if waiting these three days does any good or not, but he’d like to prolong it if we can. If my BP gets too high while I’m resting, however, I’m supposed to call and we’ll induce earlier. It’s been pretty decent tonight, so I think Friday sounds good.

I’ve been asked numerous times how I’m feeling about all of this. The answer: I’m not sure. I’m thankful to have a date in sight and to know I’ll be holding my son this weekend. It’s also extremely overwhelming- these past nine months come down to this day. This weekend will officially start a new part of our lives. A part that we’re very unsure about and don’t know what to expect. And, um, the fear of childbirth and recovery. Sure, bajillions of women have gone before me, but when it’s your body, you still get scared.

All that said, we’re excited! Just going through the normal feelings most people go through before having their first child. I still can’t believe it!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Christa permalink
    March 25, 2009 9:18 am

    March 27th is a great day to have a baby! That’s my b-day! Congrats girl!

  2. Holly permalink
    March 25, 2009 11:16 am

    Holy cow…I just realized that you really will have your baby boy in your arms this weekend! Wow! How stinkin’ exciting! Woo hoo!

  3. meganbhulsey permalink
    March 25, 2009 4:01 pm

    I just wanted to send you an early congratulations on the birth of your baby boy. Just try to relax and don’t worry too much about the birth. It’s not that scary! And it will all be worth it in the end, once you look at and hold Jack for the first time!

Leave a Reply

