Skip to content

Push Gift/Present?

March 23, 2009


I think I had vaguely heard of this before, but shrugged it off. It was brought up Saturday night by some other pregnant friends. Apparently, it’s a really popular thing.

A “Push Present” is a present a new father gives a new mother before or after she has given birth. Normally, it’s given to the mother in the hospital right after she has given birth. Jewelry is most popular, but TVs, cars, even hot tubs, are acceptable.

The tradition of husbands giving their wives gifts to commemorate the birth of a baby has some longstanding cultural roots. In England (search), the man is expected to buy the woman an elegant ring. In India (search), a husband bestows a set of gold jewelry upon his wife — offering more elaborate baubles for boy babies than girls. And recently, some of those customs have made their way over to the U.S.

Part of me thinks that holding my baby would be present enough. Also, the fact that I’d no longer be sharing my body. Another part of me thinks “Oooo, well, I do love jewelry.”

Then again, I’m not exactly working right now and maybe we should see what our hospital bill is going to be.

After labor, I’d probably be just as satisfied with a Dr. Pepper (or Starbucks), some chocolate, and sleep.

Plus, I think I like the idea of a different type of incentive. Such as, when I lose a certain amount of weight or get to a certain size, I can spend so much money at American Eagle or buy a new dress or something like that. Granted, that may be a year or so later, but I’d still be all about it.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not judging anyone if they do get a push present or if they really want one. It’s a very sweet and thoughtful gesture. And they do say that diamond’s are a girl’s best friend. I just don’t think it fits my or Reid’s personality; just like we don’t do Valentine’s day.

Any thoughts?

PS: Magen mentioned wanting a necklace with the birthstone of her child. That’s my favorite idea, thus far.

PSS: I’m getting a new cell phone tomorrow! I think I’ll count this as my push gift because I’m super excited!!!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Reid permalink
    March 23, 2009 11:09 am

    yes. the phone totally counts.

  2. March 23, 2009 12:23 pm

    My dad bought my mom this really beautiful ring when I was born (they had me late in life so dad was able to afford something fancy) and a couple of years ago my mom gave it to me. I love having it and it’s hard to explain why because my parents ended up splitting up. Anyhow, I hope we do something similar one day – nothing fancy though – that’s not my style. I guess that when I think about the “Push Gift” it seems like a reminder that you’re still number one in your husband’s life. And, like your engagement ring and wedding band it reminds you of those joyous moments and how crazy in love those days made you.

  3. March 23, 2009 12:31 pm

    i think jessica said it perfectly! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. March 23, 2009 12:32 pm

    I love it!! I will now inform my husband to read your blog.
    also – I think it’s super sweet of what Jessica’s parents did. I really like that idea – it’s sentimental.

    But I kind of agree w/ you though Ash, since money is tight, jewelry may not be the best thing right now.
    We shall see…
    Jewelry stores are having good deals right now!?? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    –JOY

  5. Reid permalink
    March 23, 2009 1:18 pm

    While I like the sentimentality of gifts, I generally don’t like pre-set occasions for gifts. Even with birthdays and especially Christmas, one can get carried away with the ‘who gave who to whom and I need to get them something because they gave me something etc.’ slip and slide. I think this is why we don’t celebrate (meaning give gifts) Valentine’s Day or even Easter.

    While I am certainly not against gifts for any occasion, I just feel that, in our case (we are very similar when it comes to this sort of thing) over-abundance of gifts leads to a type of materialism and materialism will almost certainly lead to disappointment and resentment, however slight.

    But if you think about it, we usually give gifts for no reason. (Wicked tickets)

    btw, does anyone need Wicked tickets?

  6. March 23, 2009 1:46 pm

    I just need to say that I hate the name “push gift” of “push present”. For some reason, it just sounds gross to me, and I’d much rather it be called a new mommy gift or anything other than something with the word push in it.

    I agree with Reid; it seems like a trend that people are talking up so much people feel like they have to do it. It’s kind of like all the junk people feel like they have to do with weddings now even though it’s all just a way to spend too much money. I do, however, also think it’s sweet to get something with the baby’s birthstone or something like that, but I’m with Ashley on just being satisfied with a case of Dr. Pepper or a Starbucks gift card after being deprived for so long. Basically, I don’t know what I think, but I’m sure I’m against the name of the gift.

  7. March 23, 2009 1:48 pm

    PS – I just noticed those rings, and I love them. They’re awesome. You could always wait for Christmas or something, though.

  8. March 23, 2009 4:02 pm

    Josh got me a very nice canvas of one of my maternity photos. It was so sweet, and I thought a perfect way to commemorate that “part” of my life being over with. I can always look at it and remember what it felt like to carry Dylan around for 9 months, but he didn’t spend bookoos of money on it, either.

  9. Rebecca M. permalink
    March 24, 2009 9:07 am

    When I had Micah, Joe gave me a dozen red roses and in the note card he thanked me for giving him a healthy son =) I remember all my visitors made a comment about how pretty they were. When I got home from the hospital I took several pictures of the flowers and put the photos in a memory book. It was a big deal to me since I don’t get flowers often. The thought really did count =)

  10. Holly permalink
    March 24, 2009 12:05 pm

    We didn’t do the push present or whatever. I thought it was a ridiculous way for getting another present. However, I think it would be something sweet if you weren’t expecting it. Zeb was super great when it came to taking care of Zoe and helping me then…I didn’t need or expect anything. Besides, like you all, money is super tight, and I would have felt guilty for getting anything knowing that we had this new little one to take care of. However, with that said…more power to you if you do that kind of thing. (We don’t do V-day either…so that was another reason it seemed a little weird to me.)

  11. October 28, 2010 11:09 am

    Not all diamond jewelry stores are the same so check reviews first before buying on a jewelry store~;,

  12. July 18, 2012 2:21 pm

    I got the Harmony Pendant from Juno Lucina as my push present from hubs, and I LOVE it. Not because I expected it or even asked for anything, but because it reminds me every day of the journey I went through carrying our baby girl. The design is beautiful and I can wear it everyday which is great because I don’t think I will ever take it off! You can find them at http://www.jlucina.com ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Annie’s Baby Shower « ashley davis { blog }

Leave a Reply

