Skip to content

I miss my doctor!

March 16, 2009

I never thought I’d be one of those patients that cared about which doctor I saw at my appointments or delivered my baby, but I learned otherwise this morning. My doctor is at the beach til Wednesday. How dare he leave when I might need to be induced!? Ok, I kid.

I had to fill the other doctor and nurse in on what’s been going on with me lately. He informed me that it sounds like I have preclampsia. Well, gee, thanks, but I knew that. Anways! My blood pressure wasn’t too alarming, but my swollen feet and ankles were something to be discussed. We also discussed my slight headaches in detail, so apparently there really is something to this headache thing.

After my first “special exam,” I was informed that my body’s preparing for labor, whoo! Sparing you the details, it looks like I won’t have to have a c-section, which is good news to me. The doctor said he guarantees me that I’ll be induced before I reach 39 weeks.

Jack is measuring 5 lbs, 14 ounces. Reid and I were both small babies, so I’m not surprised that he’ll be, too. All I could see while looking at his profile on the 2D was his big lips! It was surreal to see him on the screen today and think that I’ll be holding him very soon!

As far as they can tell, he’s breathing pretty well and should be fine if I have him anytime soon.

I go back to see my regular doctor on Friday. I just need to keep an eye on my blood pressure and headaches this week. I think we’re as ready as we’re going to get for his arrival. I mean, come on, how ready is anyone when they have their first child!?

His room is completely ready, bassinet is next to my bed, swing is set up, pack and play in the living room, diapers out, the house is spotless, and meals in the freezer.

Ok, enough for now. Here’s to a restful week!
The end.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Steph Z permalink
    March 16, 2009 5:48 pm

    The doctor thing reminds me of Knocked Up! LOL!!

Leave a Reply

