Skip to content

Pet Peeves

February 6, 2009
by

Reid and I share some of the same pet peeves.

Number one on my list is the use of the phrase “110 percent,” or any percentage over 100. It doesn’t exist. It’s not possible. Think about it!

Number one on Reid’s list is the misuse of the phrase “couldn’t care less.” Most people say they “could care less,” but they really mean they couldn’t care less, therefore not getting their point across.

I also cringe when I see “your” and “you’re” mixed up. It’s not that hard.

I know I have horrible grammar on this blog. I don’t use commas in the correct place and I end sentences with prepositions. I’m ok with this simply because those aren’t my pet peeves, but they could be yours. I apologize if I’ve annoyed you.

Ok, just thought I’d share since that’s all I have to blog today.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. alanreynolds permalink
    February 6, 2009 6:41 pm

    Sometimes you can’t help ending a sentence with a preposition (recall Churchill’s humorous statement on the subject).

    Even still, that’s nothing compared to the other things you mentioned. Those are pet peeves of mine as well. I struggle with not thinking people are stupid who confuse the “your” and “you’re” thing.

  2. February 6, 2009 7:38 pm

    Don’t worry, it’s actually okay to end a sentence with a preposition (mostly):

    http://grammar.quickanddirtytips.com/ending-prepositions.aspx

  3. Rebecca M. permalink
    February 6, 2009 8:35 pm

    “You’re” so funny Ashley =) When will you post a new baby bump pic?

  4. February 6, 2009 11:24 pm

    i could care less about this blog post.
    seriously.
    you’re welcome.

    p.s. i wanted to put “your welcome,” but it bothers me so much that i couldn’t even do it as a joke.

  5. amymezzell permalink
    February 7, 2009 5:11 pm

    I concur. How about rating something from 1-10 and then saying 11? That’s dumb, too. So is the word ‘irregardless’ instead of ‘regardless’.

  6. katy h. permalink
    February 9, 2009 6:05 pm

    I would have to agree with you and Reid on the pet peeves thing…I also do not like it when people use double negatives (i.e. “I don’t think nothing will change”).
    Anyway, I hope that you are doing well and feeling great these days 🙂

  7. February 10, 2009 11:40 pm

    i heard a song on the radio and the girl said she could care less and i thought of y’all 🙂

Leave a Reply

