Skip to content

Class or no class?

January 23, 2009

Ok, moms or expecting moms, I have a question. Did you go to any child-birthing classes during your pregnancy? And do you recommend it?

I only have 2 or 3 nights free during the work week, so the last thing I want to do on my nights off is hear about labor. Also, let’s face it, Reid has a light stomach and doesn’t deal well with hearing graphic terms.

Sure, you can do the class where it’s one or two full Saturdays, but again, I don’t have many Saturdays off right now, so the ones I do have off are spent out of town, etc.

I think I’d rather do a class online- like this, or this, or this.

Any thoughts?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2009 8:16 am

    Hi! Glad you found the online classes. Though I would say that these are more of an addition to regular classes. There is something that you can’t quite get anywhere but real live class. If you’re concerned about the content, talk to the instructors, talk to her former students, etc. I’m also a bigger fan of classes spread out over several weeks than 2 days, even over two weekends. Have you considered finding a happy medium by perhaps doing a private class on days that work well for you? Best of luck with your decision.

  2. amymezzell permalink
    January 23, 2009 8:52 am

    I don’t know anything about this stuff, but I do know everyone in my Sunday School class that has babies went to a class, and one of those dads is a doctor, so there must be something to them.

  3. Jaclyn permalink
    January 23, 2009 9:06 am

    I’m signed up for one on Feb. 7 (we’re doing like the 1 full day of class because it’s doable with our schedules) I’ll give you the *411* after I take it, let you know if I think it’s necessary or not.

  4. meganbhulsey permalink
    January 23, 2009 11:11 am

    I’m taking classes given by my midwife, and they are very helpful. I feel like I’ve learned a lot and know what to expect, like how to tell if it’s really labor, what contractions feel like, what happens during labor, birth, and after baby is born, etc. The only thing different about my classes is that we don’t learn any breathing exercises. But those might be really helpful to you if you are having a hospital birth. Good luck making a decision. Either way, you will be holding your baby in just a few more months!

  5. Rebecca M. permalink
    January 23, 2009 12:25 pm

    I attended classes during my first pregnancy but skipped them the second…since they were relatively close. There is A LOT of good information for both mom and dad (my husband had more questions than I did). So my vote is go, at least once, but remember that labor will most likely be nothing like you prepare for in class. I was so prepared for contractions, breathing, epidurals, pain, boredom, all so I could have an emergency c- section and miss the whole experience. You never know exactly what to do until you’re in the moment, but I felt better having the classes under my belt. Hope that helps!

  6. Holly permalink
    January 23, 2009 12:48 pm

    We didn’t do the classes b/c when we called, they said it was too late to do any classes. I talked to a girl that my mom works with that used to teach them…and she said that most women don’t go to the classes. Pretty much everything we needed to know, the dr told us at our appts. Looking back, I don’t know that I would go…actually, I probably wouldn’t. I also read a lot of books…so I felt confident that I knew as much as I could before I went in. The one thing I would do differently is maybe talk to someone about breast feeding. Zoe did a really great job with that, but there were times when I had questions about something that I read in a breastfeeding book. I do wish I would have had more help with that in the hospital. So, my vote is…No, I wouldn’t go.

  7. January 23, 2009 3:40 pm

    I know I put most of this on your facebook, but I figured I would put something here, too. We didn’t go to classes. I really wanted to, but when it came down to it (we couldn’t fit it in with our schedule until an all-day Saturday class about 2 weeks before Dylan was scheduled to be here) I opted for the sleep and alone time with Josh over the class. I didn’t look at the exact links you found online, but that’s what I did. I read a lot online, but mostly talked to my girlfriends who had already been through it all. That’s where I learned the most.

    My midwife said,”We’ve never left on in there. We’ll tell you what to do.” Nothing was a huge shock, and I felt plenty prepared for what I experienced.

  8. Cammie permalink
    January 23, 2009 8:44 pm

    Ash,
    We didn’t take any classes. Most people I talked to said they were really pointless unless you were going to have natural childbirth-no drugs. My doctor and nurse told me exactly what to do and when to do it. It also sounds like you have lots of friends with personal experiece to share when you are ready. You can ask me anything you need to know!!! Love ya!

  9. January 24, 2009 10:45 pm

    Our class was a complete waste of time. But, that doesn’t mean all classes will be that way. I agree with Cammie. If you are going to have a natural childbirth the class is probably more helpful. I didn’t use a single bit of information that we learned in class during/after labor, except that they showed us where the snack machines were :). But, I was induced and my epidural worked amazingly well, so that might have made a difference. With all the research you seem to be doing through internet and talking with friends, I would imagine you are pretty well informed already.

Leave a Reply

