Skip to content

Pregnancy and Weight Gain

January 21, 2009

I’ve gone through different phases in how I’ve felt about gaining weight during this pregnancy. In the beginning I was terrified at the thought of gaining any weight at all, even though it’s inevitable. It was such a transition in my mind set considering I’ve been focused on losing weight for two years, then all of a sudden working out with a different purpose. It went against everything I had taught myself. I really had a hard time mentally for the first three or four months.

I even mentioned that my goal was to only gain 25-30 pounds. I now laugh that I even thought that because I’m almost 28 weeks and have reached the 30 pound mark as of today, and I’m not ashamed. Or upset.

As time has gone by during these past few months and I’ve realized that yes, I’m gaining weight and not just in my stomach area. I notice it in my thighs, booty, arms, etc. I’m surrounded by mirrors all day at work and talk fitness, nutrition, and weight loss with my clients, all the while I’m getting bigger. That messed with my mind for a while. The mirrors at work have always been annoying to me, but more so now.

But, I’m finally at peace with it. Yeah, my thighs are bigger. Big deal. I know how to lose weight and be healthy, so I know that after Jack Ryan’s here and I get adjusted to things, I can start working on getting my body back. I like the challenge of losing weight and seeing just how far you can push your body, so I’ll have my time to do just that.

It’s been a slow transition in my thinking, but it just doesn’t matter to me anymore. Bring on the cake. Just kidding, we need to wait til after my blood sugar test tomorrow, haha!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Holly permalink
    January 21, 2009 5:06 pm

    First, good luck on the test. The fruit punch wasn’t so bad. Second…I’m so proud of you and your thought process through all of this. Gaining weight was fun for me b/c it meant things were okay….so more power to you, girl! Enjoy those extra pounds…and enjoy that cake! 🙂

  2. Cammie permalink
    January 21, 2009 6:38 pm

    Good luck with your test! Other people talk about
    how bad it is but it didn’t bother me. Mine tasted
    like fruit punch. Hope it all goes well. And, I’m glad
    You don’t worry about the weight gain now. I think you are too cute!!

Leave a Reply

