Skip to content

Pregnancy Makes Me Mean

December 11, 2008

I yelled at a Motherhood Maternity employee today. And I’m not even sorry.

Ok, let’s back up.

We’re going to the Radio City Christmas Spectacular this weekend with Reid’s parents, Max and Sally. It just occurred to me yesterday that I have no other pants that fit except one pair of jeans and sweatpants.

I HATE shopping for clothes, no matter what size I am, especially now that I’m pregnant and feel awkward in most clothing. I’m extremely picky about my clothes and how they feel and fit.

I went to Target last night and tried a few things on and didn’t have much success. After trying on several things and seeing my body in the mirrors all around the dressing room, I started crying. I felt so gross and uncomfortable in my own skin. Plus, nothing fit well and it just makes you feel worse.

Today, I was hopeful and in a great mood. I was going to try to get more Christmas shopping done and maybe look for an outfit for Saturday night.

I walked into Motherhood Maternity and was bombarded. I like to shop alone and quietly. Two employees began asking my size, when I’m due, what I need an outfit for, etc etc. Then, they start holding up clothes they like and think I should try on. I continue to tell them I’m just looking. They don’t stop. I’m followed around the store and they just keep talking to me about the clothes, etc.

The dressing room is where I lost it.

I tried on a few things, not leaving the dressing room. They start asking me how the jeans fit.
“I don’t like them.”
“Do you need another size?”
“No, I don’t like them. They’re uncomfortable.”
“What is it you don’t like, do you want more sweatpants?”
“I just don’t like them.”
This goes on about other clothing I was trying on.

Finally, I yelled “Leave me alone! I just want to shop alone!”

And then I burst out crying.

I do not like feeling pressured, especially about clothes I don’t like.

I did buy a couple of things (no pants) on sale. I spent money on these clothes that I’d never, ever spend on regular clothes. Why does most maternity clothing look like they’re meant for 40 year old women!?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. amymezzell permalink
    December 12, 2008 8:27 am

    That sounds terrible! I am proud that you finally yelled at them. It sounds like they needed it! It almost seems like they were attacking you. I really don’t like when salespeople try to help at all.

  2. jesshawbaker permalink
    December 13, 2008 12:59 pm

    Whatever, you were totally justified in yelling at those ladies. I mean, seriously, who harasses pregnant women.

Leave a Reply

