Skip to content

F.A.Q.

November 23, 2008

1. Will your son be Jack or Jack Ryan?
Both. We intend to call him Jack Ryan, but sometimes it’s easier to just say Jack. We’re not hard pressed in that he must be called Jack Ryan at all times. It really doesn’t bother me, either way.

2. Jack Ryan? Haven’t I heard that in a movie or something?
Yes. Jack Ryan is a fictional character created by Tom Clancy who appears in many of his novels. There have been many film adaptations of the novels, including Patriot Games, Clear and Present Danger, and The Sum of All Fears. And yes, this is what inspired his name.

(PS-Ryan Gosling is rumored to play the next Jack Ryan and I’m very happy about it.)

3. I know you said you preferred having a girl; were you upset when you found out it was a boy?
I’ll be honest, I was a little disappointed and shocked at first. Now that’s its sunk in, I couldn’t imagine it any other way! I’m extremely excited and can’t wait to meet our son! (More thoughts on this on a later blog post.)

4. How are you feeling?
Great! No sickness, no crazy cravings, no stomach pains. I do feel Jack moving around a little bit from time to time. I get bursts of energy on most days, and other days I can’t seem to stop sleeping.

5. How are you decorating the nursery and have you started yet?
Vintage airplanes with navy and dark red as the colors; and yes, I’ve already started. I’ve had 4 months to figure out in my head how I’d like to do a boy’s nursery and a girl’s nursery, so I knew where to start.

After a year of living here, I finally added something to the walls in the hallway that leads to his room. We don’t venture down this way very much and have almost considered it no-man’s-land. That’s all going to change soon, so I wanted to make this part of the house more inviting.

One of the first things I did in his room was hang our copy of the Shema.

Then, this poster from our office.

Soon, I’ll get Reid to transfer his plane from the office to Jack Ryan’s room. We’ll hang it close to the last poster shown, above his changing pad.

I found these letters at Hobby Lobby for $2 each. They were gold, but spray paint can work wonders.

I just bought this bumper pad on eBay yesterday! I love it!

My parents and sister are coming in town this week. Mom’s going to help me pick out fabric for the crib skirt and curtains that she’ll be making for him.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. cammie permalink
    November 23, 2008 2:39 pm

    VERY cute Ashley! I can’t wait to see the finished product AND to see Jack Ryan IN it!!!!

  2. Rita permalink
    November 23, 2008 7:14 pm

    Love everything! Jack Ryan is gonna have the cutest room! Keep bloggin!!!

  3. hollydoodle00 permalink
    November 24, 2008 8:01 am

    Super Cute. I loved your ideas for his room!

  4. amymezzell permalink
    November 24, 2008 12:29 pm

    I love the stars! The room will be super cute.

Leave a Reply

