Skip to content

Remembering the Simplicity

November 5, 2008
by

T* is one of my favorite clients. When I think about it, they’re all my favorites. They’re all so different in their own ways.

I only see T once or twice a week, but we’re sure to get in all our gossip and catch up on each other’s lives. (Btw, she was the one that suggested I was pregnant and encouraged me to take a home test…and she was right.)

Church doesn’t come up a lot in our conversations, until last night. She’s Catholic and just started going back to church because she feels the need to be spiritual, especially for her children.

She asked a few questions about the Old Testament and the New and how they connected; as I began explaining and even just telling the story of Abraham, she was floored. It was all new to her. After explaining, in very basic terms, God’s relationship with people in the OT and then he sent Jesus as the ultimate sacrifice to change the relationship, she was thrilled.

Now, this is something I have heard most of my life and take for granted, but not T. No one’s ever told her this. No one’s ever explained any of it for her to understand. She kept saying how cool that was and how much it made sense.

It’s amazing to see someone’s initial reaction to something I take so lightly in my day to day life. It was refreshing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. amymezzell permalink
    November 5, 2008 6:48 pm

    That is awesome. You could have just made a huge impact on her whole life!

  2. November 5, 2008 7:40 pm

    wow. that’s really cool, ashley.

Leave a Reply

