Skip to content

Not For Me

October 22, 2008

I got bombarded this morning at work. Who knew that the majority of our clients strongly believe I shouldn’t find out the sex of our baby and let it be a surprise? I had three at one time, and one later, trying their hardest to convince me to not find out. They said they loved not knowing and it made the birth that much more special. This is my first child, so I’m certain this will still be a special birth.

I know some people *coughJOYcough* that aren’t finding out, but I can’t handle it. I’m very adamant about how I want the room decorated for a boy and its very different for a girl, and vice versa. I want everything in it’s place and everything planned as much in advance as possible before the baby gets here, including clothes in their place, etc etc. It’s just part of my personality.

And yes, I have considered that it would be fun not knowing and how fun it would be to find out after they’re here, but it’s just not for me.

Speaking of which, I’m hoping we can tell the sex of the baby tomorrow even though I’ll only be 15 weeks. I.CAN’T.WAIT!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Reid permalink
    October 22, 2008 11:00 am

    I can’t for the life of me understand what makes not knowing fun! I mean, what is fun about it? Why is it more of a surprise later than it would be tomorrow? Sorry, I’m just sick of people telling you these things as if they know better!

  2. amymezzell permalink
    October 22, 2008 11:09 am

    I agree with Reid. Not knowing would be very NOT fun for me. Tell those people to shut their face and leave you alone. Even if you already had a boy and a girl, meaning you had all the appropriate clothes and decorations, I would still not want it to be a surprise.

  3. Rebecca M. permalink
    October 22, 2008 8:58 pm

    There is nothing worse than standing in a line waiting for a rude sales representative to return non gender- neutral baby items to a store. Especially when one has a sore body, little sleep, mood swings and the most precious bundle EVER in arms (All while developing a germaphobia the first minute a stranger approaches to see your little one).
    I found out both times. Each pregnancy (and child) IS different and if you ask me the birth experience is special no matter what πŸ™‚

  4. Holly permalink
    October 23, 2008 12:50 pm

    To each his own…and no one way is better for everyone. Zeb and I found out as soon as we could what Zoe was going to be…for my sanity. I didn’t need or want anymore surprises. Next time, we’re not sure what we’ll do. Just wait until baby arrives…then you’ll really get everyone’s opinions about what the crap you are supposed to do and how and when and everything you do is wrong πŸ™‚ haha….. I’m looking forward to hearing if we’ll have a little Ivy or Jack to buy for! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

