Skip to content

Every once in a while…

September 17, 2008

I get an itch for change. For a new adventure.

Yes, I realize I’m pregnant and that a newborn baby will be plenty adventure to last me a while.

But when I read about others’ journeys with moving to a new place and making it home, I start to think about what if we packed up and moved somewhere different.

Let me also say that I love my house and I love my life, but I still get these thoughts.

Last summer was really hard for me after graduation because I felt like everyone else’s lives were moving on, but mine wasn’t since I was staying in the same place and working at the school I graduated from. Some were getting married and moving to California or Colorado for seminary. I also hated my job, so that didn’t help; but I got over all of it once I got a new job and a house. I felt like I had moved on because I finally had.

I still think about what if Reid and I really did move to Montana. There’s no great reason that we wanted to live there, just the fact that we like the way of life there. {Don’t worry, Mom and Sally, we’re not going anywhere. Especially, with Jack Ryan/Ivy on the way!}

Sometimes I still long for those first few months of living in Birmingham. My first big adventure on my own. I cherish that time because everything was so brand new and fresh, plus I met some of the best people.

Even after writing all this, I think I’m over it. It comes and goes. For now, I’ll make dinner and get ready for work and then hang out with my husband.

Does anyone else get these urges to just up and change their entire life? It’s always been in me for as long as I can remember.

-ash
UPDATE: This hasn’t been on my mind a long time; just very, very rare times. I’m not discontent with my life in anyway; my mind just wanders sometimes.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. mommysrant permalink
    September 17, 2008 2:55 pm

    It’s called wanderlust. It will never leave you, but its strength will come and go.
    Some advice:
    Make sure you take vacations. Real vacations — not just the ones you take to visit family. Vacations for you, your partner, and your (soon-to-be) kid — YOUR family that you’ve created.
    It also helps, me at least, to ride public transport every once in a while. We have light rail (train) here in Denver, and just going places by lr makes me feel somewhat like a tourist. I can’t take it to work (locations are all wrong), but I can take it to baseball, hockey, or football games, to the art museum, to the public library, or just for a ride. Staring out the window at “new” (to me) things makes me feel like I live somewhere else.
    Short weekend road trips help, too. Before baby comes, you should take a weekend for yourself — or a girls’ weekend with your friends — and explore someplace within a few hours’ drive. It won’t change your _entire_ life, but it’ll make you feel good in the short term.
    Oh, and many of your friends who are packing up and preparing for their life changes are probably really jealous of your (seeming) stability. Wonderful husband, baby on the way… they think you’ve got it all! (Which you do!)
    : )

  2. September 17, 2008 4:54 pm

    Ashley- It has been so long since we have talked!! I really wanted to take time and encourage you to not be afraid of those thoughts. Explore them! You do not seem discontent or unhappy with your life by daily being open to what God might bring into your picture. As you might know we are in the adoption process and at the time of when we decided to move we were right dead in the center of it and it would have been crazy for us to move at that time!!I think God likes things crazy sometimes!! We were open and God said go and so we went. He has taken care of each step along the way.
    These are just some thoughts I have had about my own life in the last few months. I am learning that our “home” is with God. For myself I cannot plant here on this earth and not be open to leaving. This earth is just a place that we can serve God at. This life is a journey with many seasons and I want to fully embrace and be open to wherever he may call us too! If God says stay or go- there we find life only in what he has for us at that time!! I am so excited about your pregnancy and your own journey of life with your husband. I would love to talk to you anytime!! Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  3. sheena permalink
    September 17, 2008 7:29 pm

    ashley why do you hate your life?

  4. meganbhulsey permalink
    September 18, 2008 11:17 am

    Yes! I dream of moving somewhere cooler than south Georgia. It’s almost October, and it’s 80 degrees outside! But, all of my family and all of my husband’s family lives close by, so I doubt we will ever leave.

  5. faemom permalink
    September 18, 2008 3:15 pm

    You’re pregnant. When you’re pregnant, sometimes you need a change to “try and escape” the baby coming who will change everything. Wanting to move is just as valid as cutting your hair short or all of a sudden needing to buy new furniture. You’ll be fine.

  6. September 18, 2008 10:51 pm

    i have those feelings almost daily. i’m not really sure what that means for me b/c i’m not preggers.

  7. September 19, 2008 6:17 pm

    I wonder about all these different versions of my life pretty often. I think about choices I’ve made and imagine life in another place or in different circumstances. I don’t know that any of it would be better, just different, and I wonder about it. I think about it in terms of the future too. What if we do this or what if we go there or what if we try that. Sometimes it’s hard to figure out what to do but I’m so blessed to have all of these wonderful options in front of me. Maybe one day I’ll have done it all. Maybe y’all will live in Montana for a little while. Someday…

Leave a Reply

