Skip to content

Good Riddance

August 20, 2008


Dear Scale,

I regret to inform you that I have moved your residence from my bathroom to the top shelf in the laundry room. Please enjoy your 10-12 month vacation, as you will need your rest. We’ve had a good run. I’ve appreciated your daily accountability, even on the days you told me I needed to lay off the cake and diet Coke.

As you may have noticed this week, I’ve put on a couple pounds. It’s only going to get worse from here, so for my sanity, pride, and self-esteem, I think I’ll stick with only using the scale at the dr’s office. Thus, by removing you out of my sight, I am removing the temptation to weigh myself every day.

Please don’t take offense to this, I simply cannot handle the shame of gaining weight, even for this great cause. I don’t need your daily reminder, as the mirror will let me know just fine, as well as my jeans, how much weight I’m gaining.

Get your rest because you’ll soon need it. Maybe in May or June of next year, I’ll bring you back to your saved spot in the bathroom. Please go easy on me and do not judge at that time. We’re going to start back from scratch. It might be a long year, but we can do it. Enjoy your vacation!

Your sometimes-friend,
Ashley

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2008 6:05 pm

    dear ashley,

    i’ll love you forever. even if you put me in the laundry room. just make sure chewy doesn’t find me. he scares me.

    i’ll wait for you whenever you’re ready. but until then, know that you and me – we’ve had some good times. i’ll never forget them.

    Your forever-friend,
    Scale

  2. August 20, 2008 8:26 pm

    i have yet taken the time to say “YEA” to y’all. i’m super excited for y’all. love ya.

  3. August 20, 2008 8:33 pm

    ashley, i will take care of making sure that my scale down here will make up for yours not being used. i will try and not curse it on the days that i hate the numbers staring back at me, but i cannot promise that this will not happen (occasionally), but i will at least vow to try.
    enjoy this hiatus of use as it is a beautiful thing to be able to gain weight (for the baby’s sake) and it be completely normal and necessary for the healthy growth of the little boy or girl you are carrying.
    also, just wanted to let you know that i am praying for you and the baby…praying that you both stay healthy and grow strong during this time.

Leave a Reply

