Skip to content

Secret’s Out!

August 12, 2008

A week ago was our 2 year wedding anniversary. It was also a day we won’t forget for other reasons. It was the day we found out that I’M PREGNANT!

Yep. I’m pregnant. Knocked up. Prego.

Here’s what I wrote that day:
August 5, 2008

I’m in a state of complete shock.

Last night on the way home I stopped to buy a pregnancy test, nothing out of the ordinary since I’m always paranoid. The only difference this time is when the digital reading read “pregnant.” I wasn’t going to tell Reid til after I went to the dr. and found out for sure, but I couldn’t help it. I had an emotional breakdown, according to him. Not my finest moment, that’s for sure.

The next morning I headed to the doc-in-a-box to get a blood test done. I joked with the nurses doing my bloodwork about how there’s just no way I’m pregnant. Three of the nurses stood around waiting for my results…they started shaking their heads “yes.” Finally, I shouted “Tell me!!” And they did.

“Shoot, girl, you pregnant.” The words that changed my life. Then, they had to console me because I couldn’t stop shaking or crying hysterically. After telling Reid on the phone, I drove over to see Magen, where I brokedown once again.

It would be on our 2 year anniversary that I find this out! I can’t wait to tell our parents and family, but I want to do it in person, so I’ve gotta wait. This is just crazy. There goes our 5-years-with-no-babies-plan. Oh well! I’m so excited!!

It’s not what we planned, but God knows better and we’re trusting him during this adventure. We can’t wait to meet our son/daughter! (Now, lets just hope its not twins, haha!)

Reid likes this…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2008 6:07 pm

    Congratulations!

  2. August 12, 2008 6:49 pm

    woot, woot…praying that you and baby stay happy and healthy for the next 40 weeks (plus or minus a few days/weeks)!

  3. Rita permalink
    August 12, 2008 8:22 pm

    CONGRATS!! CONGRATS!! We are so happy to hear the news! I know some grandmoms and granddads that are excited I am sure!!! Gotta go call Sally!!!!!!!!!!

  4. August 12, 2008 8:45 pm

    yeah!! congrats, guys!! unexpected and TOTALLY exciting! šŸ™‚

  5. August 13, 2008 9:08 am

    Wow. The I Love Lucy show has never ever made me alsmost shed a tear. Crazy! Woo! Made me smile big!

    I am sooooo excited for y’all!

    Okay, now – it is even more imperative for us to hang out, and be crazy emotional together!

    WOO HOO!

  6. August 13, 2008 9:10 am

    whoops. lots of typos there. i’m gonna blame it on my daughter or son or baby in the womb. See? having a baby is sooo awesome! You can blame your innocent mistakes on them.

  7. August 13, 2008 9:21 am

    Congrats, Ashley, I love that you tagged the post “diaphragms don’t work.” Made me laugh.

  8. August 13, 2008 5:09 pm

    my favorite part of the story is that the ladies said, “shoot girl, you pregnant.” that is awesome! you know i am so happy for y’all and can’t wait to buy cute little baby clothes šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

