Skip to content

Where to begin…

May 20, 2008
by

Everyone asks if my trip to Germany was fun. Well, it wasn’t. It wasn’t horrible or anything (actually is was sometimes). It’s just that it was a business trip and that’s what we did. Business. It was very cool to be in Europe and to see different places and have different experiences. But I discovered rather quickly that if you don’t do these things with those you love, it really doesn’t matter all that much. So, I didn’t really enjoy it as far as that goes. But I would like to share a few experiences.

One day we went to Munich. Over the past two years or so I’ve learned a lot about the Munich Massacre where 11 Israeli athletes were held hostage and eventually killed at the 1972 Munich Olympic Games. Most of this interest was brought on by the Spielberg film Munich, but this event has fascinated me for years now that terrorism has become such a common theme in our world. Some have even said it began with this tragic event. When I learned of our trip to Germany I made sure we found time to visit the site.

It was an ominous feeling. As I found the building (thanks to Google Earth) I was completely alone and this one image was emblazoned inside my head.

There is a memorial at the front of the building.

There is a Jewish tradition of placing a stone on a headstone of grave to honor the memory of the dead. There is also an ancient Hebrew tradition of placing stones in an area to signify that something important occurred at that spot. So, I had decided that if I got the chance to go to Olympic Park in Munich, I would place a stone as well. I brought half of a rock that Ashley and I got on Grandfather Mountain last fall in North Carolina.

So, now half of our rock is sitting on our desk while the other half is sitting on the memorial 4000 miles away in Munich, Germany.

Experiences like this one made the trip worth it to me. I only hope Ashley and I can go back one day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2008 2:35 pm

    very cool. i’ll go back with you.

  2. cammie permalink
    May 21, 2008 7:36 pm

    i think it’s cool that you took 1/2 of a rock that you got while visiting me!!!

Leave a Reply

