Skip to content

This Week in Pictures

March 21, 2014
by

Last Saturday, we went to Casey’s birthday party. Jack has been excited for over a week about this; you’d think we were going to a six year olds party. Jack asked before we went what kind of cake he’d have, ha!

Jack had the time of his life and didn’t stop running for about 3 hours. That night was the best sleep he’s had in a while, so maybe we’ll start throwing him in the backyard to run laps before bedtime.

We went back to a church we’ve tried before on Sunday night. Jack has since moved up in the age group and was put in a large room with 3-6 year olds. It was crazy loud and overwhelmed all three of us. They even used a microphone to get kids gathered when it was time to start. Outta control. After about 10 minutes of trying everything, we finally took Jack with us in the service.

Any time he’s gone to church with my parents or Reid’s parents, he always gets to stay with the adults, so he thought that’s what would happen then.

We didn’t stay long, though.

In an attempt to counteract all The Bachelor episodes I’ve watched lately, I started listening to The People of Mars Hill podcasts again.

Reid and I have both been listening to Jack Hester’s teachings on Matthew. I started with the most recent and am working my way back, and Reid started with the beginning. We’ve both been blown away by it and love how much we’re learning. Before I even started it, I was thinking I really just want to hear about Jesus right now, which sounds a bit strange, but still, this is exactly what I’ve needed.

In Jack’s world, anything can be considered a party. So, telling him it was St. Patrick’s day on Monday and that he should wear green, he thought it was cool even though he had no idea why.

That afternoon, he was eating a ring pop and started pretending he was a baby with it being a paci. Normally, I wouldn’t let him go too far with this, but he wanted me to cuddle “baby Jack,” and since that doesn’t happen too often, I went with it.

Watching America’s Funniest Videos.

Sidenote: We watched Frozen for the first time this week. I really, really wanted to like it. And I really, really didn’t. I felt like so many details were missing. And one or two songs made me cringe, but a couple of the songs have stuck with me and I really like them.

On another note, “Pascal” (from Tangled) helped me wrap presents today. This was gift from Reid since I’m a huge Tangled fan and we never have tape handy.

Jack had his 5 year check up yesterday and had to get 4 shots, but he has his blue form and is officially ready to register for kindergarten!

There was a lot of this going on while we waited for the doctor.

We went to Yogurt Lab afterward because there were shots involved and we both cried.

Jack’s birthday is next week, which happens to be his spring break, so we took cookies to share with his school friends today. Our friend, Leah, made these and we couldn’t be happier with them!

Jack asked me about six times on the way to school if I had the cookies, and then, he was concerned about having enough for everyone.

Leah, also, made Jack’s Star Wars cookies last year. I am a horrible baker, so this is way out of my league and I’m so in awe of these talents!

the end.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2014 10:52 am

    it looks like my party was just me and kids. was it? i’m old. i don’t remember.

    • March 21, 2014 12:03 pm

      Exactly. That’s why I posted those two pictures. Also, they were the only pictures I had.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

