Skip to content

Scenes from Our House: Christmas Edition

December 9, 2013
by

It’s that time of year again! And, by that, I mean the time of year I start throwing ornaments all over the house and call them decorations.

November was a bit of a whirlwind for us, so we decorated right before we left for the beach for Thanksgiving. We have a strict no-Christmas-decorations-before-Thanksgiving rule, but Thanksgiving was late this year and we knew we’d be tired coming home from a road trip.

Blurry, but look how excited Jack was about putting the star on the tree.

When Jack’s ready to pose, he is all in. He was in the best of moods going through all the boxes and pulling out all the decorations.

Jack’s colorful tree topper to match his crazy tree, thanks to Nana

I absolutely love our tree. It’s nice and cozy and almost always plugged in since we spend most of our time at home in the living room. In fact, you can find Jack and I playing under the tree most days.

We just got home from Disney World, so having the monorail around the tree just seemed right.

Even Mr. and Mrs. Lego got a Christmas tree with presents set up.

For the past two years, I’ve wrapped presents in brown paper, which I loved, but thought it was time for some color this year. There’s no wrapping theme, just a free for all.

I always have a hard time coming up with something for the kitchen table. This was out of odds and ends around the house; I don’t hate it. It’s good enough. And festive, right?

I asked for Christmas decorations for my birthday, which is this month. I never thought that’d be something I’d ask for, but I’m glad I did. This pillow and the wooden sign on the mantle were gifts from my parents.

I gave up looking at ideas for Christmas mantles on Pinterest because it’s a bit overwhelming and I still didn’t know what I wanted. All I knew was I wanted the window and the sign up there and some type of real wreath on the window.

I couldn’t find a real wreath at a price I liked, so I bought this bundle from Home Depot. I, also, brought home extra tree limbs/scraps that I’ve been cutting up and using randomly.

Reid and I will be getting stockings to coordinate with Jack’s something during the next year. I’ve always wanted to do that, so I’m excited!

This was going on under the mantle while I was taking pictures. Don’t know where he gets this from…

The chalkboard is about to change; Jack wants something with candy canes.

And that’s mostly it.

I’m really happy with the feel of everything, which was especially important to me this year since we’ll be spending Christmas at home this year. Santa is actually coming to our house! It’s a really big deal to us. Not exactly the Santa part, but being in our home for Christmas. Although, it is a little bittersweet not being with a lot of family on Christmas day, but know it’ll be a relaxing day at home just the three of us, something we’ve never done.

the end.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Leslie permalink
    December 13, 2013 12:54 pm

    Beautiful! I need you to come decorate for me!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

